Winners Announced At The 10th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia

SINGAPORE, June 26, 2017 — Honouring and recognising outstanding companies and individuals in the maritime industry, winners of the 10th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia were announced on 23 June 2017 at the InterContinental Hong Kong.

With close to 400 top maritime executives in attendance, Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia, celebrating its 10th anniversary this year is widely acknowledged as one of the region’s most prestigious industry awards.  Held annually to commemorate inspiring industry peers on  their extraordinary efforts and contributions towards the maritime industry, a total of 15 awards were presented this year.  

Winners for the 12 competitive categories were chosen by an independent panel of senior industry figures whilst recipients for the other three special awards namely the Seatrade Young Person of the Year Award, the Seatrade Personality of the Year Award and the Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award, were decided by the Seatrade Senior Editorial Board.

Mr Randy Chen, Vice Chairman, Wan Hai Lines, was awarded the Seatrade Personality of the Year and Mr Edward Buttery, Chief Executive Officer, Taylor Maritime (HK) Ltd, was presented with the Seatrade Young Person of the Year. The last award of the night, Seatrade Lifetime Achievement of the Year was presented to His Excellency Ambassador Carlos C. Salinas, Chairman, Philippine Transmarine Carriers, Inc. The award recognised the highly important role Ambassador Salinas has played in the development of the Philippines as the world’s leading supplier of seafarers to international shipping.

The Technical Innovation and Deal of the Year Awards were the two most hotly contested categories. ICBC Financial Leasing Co. Ltd emerged as the  winner for the Deal of the Year Award, having won the same for two running years in 2014 and 2015. Their significant groundbreaking deal outshone the rest of the finalists. The Technical Innovation award was presented to Mampaey Offshore Industries who has impressed the judges with its innovative auto docking solution that improved safety in this most difficult of maritime operations.

“Success of the Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia over the past 10 years would not have been possible without the unwavering support from our participants, sponsors, judges and supporting partners, of which we are deeply grateful and humbled. Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia 2018 will return to Singapore to be held in conjunction with the Singapore Maritime Week 2018 and we look forward to seeing you there,” Chris Hayman, Chairman, Seatrade commented.

Visit to find out more.

Appendix: List of winners at Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia 2017


For more information, please contact:

Daphne Yuen

Joelle Quah



DID: +65 6592 0888 Ext 740

DID: +65 6592 0888 Ext 748

About Seatrade

Founded in 1970, Seatrade was acquired in 2014 by UBM, the world’s largest media and event organiser across a wide variety of industries. Seatrade’s publications, events, management training, research and award schemes cover every aspect of the cruise and maritime industries. The company’s principal strength is its ability to bring key people together, encouraging innovation and facilitating better communication within the industry. Seatrade is headquartered in Colchester, UK, with regional offices in Dubai, Singapore, as well as representatives in all major maritime centres and cruise destinations across the globe.

For more information, please visit  

About UBM plc

Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia is organised by UBM plc.  UBM is the largest pure-play B2B Events organiser in the world.  Our 3,750+ people, based in more than 20 countries, serve more than 50 different sectors.  Our deep knowledge and passion for these sectors allow us to create valuable experiences which enable our customers to succeed.  Please visit for the latest news and information about UBM.


List of winners

Award Category


Education & Training Award

Malaysian Maritime Academy Sdn Bhd

Environment Protection Award

Berge Bulk

Technical Innovation Award

Mampaey Offshore Industries

Corporate Social Responsibility Award

Magsaysay People Resources Corporation

Safety Initiative Award

Keppel FELS Limited

Ship Manager Award

Fleet Management Ltd

Ship Owner/Operator Award

China Merchants Energy Shipping Co. Ltd.

Ports & Terminals Award

PSA Singapore

Maritime Law Award

Stephenson Harwood

Ship Finance Award

Ince & Co

Shipbuilding & Repair Yard Award

Sembcorp Marine Ltd

Deal of the Year Award

ICBC Financial Leasing Co. Ltd

Seatrade Young Person of the Year 2017

Edward Buttery

Seatrade Personality of the Year 2017

Randy Chen

Seatrade Lifetime Achievement 2017

His Excellency Ambassador Carlos C. Salinas

To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE Seatrade Communications

Related Links